7969594

5 star

 

This is the story of two sisters, who happen to be princesses. Theirs is a world in which those who die in glory return as gods to live confined to a pantheon in Hallandren’s capital city. A world transformed by a power based on an essence known as breath. Using magic is arduous as breath can only be collected one unit at a time.

Sandserson does it again. Warbreaker features an interesting plot, compelling characters, and a unique magic system. 

Warbreaker follows a world with two cities that believe they are the rightful leaders of society. A war fought in the past now dictates the present. Princess Vivenna is forced to marry the God King and bear an heir in a society vastly different from her own. 

Warbreaker isn’t a story full of action, rather it’s character based story and pays off in the end. The pacing throughout most of the book is on the slower side, however the characters and chapter by chapter plot points advance the story without it feeling boring or tedious. If you’re not a fan of slower paced fantasy novels, then Warbreaker may not be for you. 

I enjoyed all the characters except Vivenna. I found her annoying, naive, and frustrating for almost of the novel. I didn’t dread reading her chapters, but they certainly weren’t my favorite. Despite my dislike of the character, I did appreciate her conflicted religious feelings and overall arc. 

I thoroughly enjoyed Vasher and Nightblood. Vasher was dark and mysterious, which added an uncertain element to the story. I loved Nightblood and cannot wait to read more. 

Overall, Warbreaker is an interesting fantasy novel that focuses mostly on character development. Warbreaker is a lone novel, but Sanderson left room for future novels that I cannot wait to read!

