5471702

4star_Fotor

The Heroin Diaries is a look inside the drug-fueled life of a rock star. Nikki Sixx didn’t always have the best life growing up and made the best of the hand he was dealt. It was tough to watch as Sixx spiraled downward into a life dedicated to maintaining appearances as his physical and mental health quickly deteriorated.

What I loved most about this book was the present day insight accompanying each diary entry. It offered additional information as well as insight into his various emotional states.

Memoirs like these are always hard to read and may seem useless to those who haven’t experienced something as life changing and/negative. I certainly haven’t experienced anything that can compare to his, but I still find myself confronted with questions about my own bad habits and how I view addiction in general. If a memoir’s only goal is to reach at least one person, than this memoir most certainly succeeded. Anyone and everyone can identify with all aspects of Sixx’s life.

Overall, The Heroin Diaries is an interesting look on the “rock star lifestyle” and how it not only affects the people directly involved, but everyone around as well.

