31038172

5 star

 

Torn begins with a quick refresher about what happened in the previous novel (which I am eternally grateful for). I was quickly reminded of what happened then fully immersed in this world and story.

The pacing of almost the entire novel is steady. Very little happens until the end, however all the build up and foreshowing is worth the slower pace. The ending sequence of this novel will surprise and shock you. I wasn’t expecting it to be as dark and disgusting as it was. It made me feel uncomfortable and squirm at a few moments. This novel is sexually explicit, so if you don’t like that then you will definitely not enjoy Torn.

Tink is absolutely amazing in this book. If you thought he was funny and fun in the first book, you haven’t seen anything yet. I always thought of him as just a fun, comedic relief character, but he’s so much more.

Ren didn’t have a large role to play in Torn, which I was disappointed about because who doesn’t want more Ren? However, I thoroughly enjoyed the focus on Ivy and her abilities as a badass fighter. She is similar to Kat from The Lux series and Alex from The Covenant series, but I would never classify that as a criticism or negative. Ivy, Kat, and Alex are all badass characters, but they also have very distinct and unique personalities. I love Ivy because she’s headstrong, intelligent, and caring.

 

Overall, Torn was an incredible sequel that pushed the limits. It will make you feel uncomfortable as the last chapters of the book unfold. I cannot wait for Brave, coming out in the summer of 2017!

