29093764

 

4star_Fotor

Insidious is the 20th FBI Thriller novel and I have to admit I haven’t read or even heard of the author before I was asked to review this book. A few chapters into Insidious, I realized this series is one that you could pick up any novel and jump into the mystery without feeling like you’re missing some crucial information from previous books. There are a few nods to previous novels, however they include enough information that the reader won’t feel like they’re missing out on some inside joke.

Insidious follows FBI Agents Savich and Sherlock as they investigate an attempted poisoning of an international conglomerate, Venus Rasmussen. The Rasmussen family is fueled by secrets and laziness, so Savich and Sherlock have to untangle a web of lies and deception.

Meanwhile, FBI Agent Cam is dispatched to Los Angeles to hunt for the infamous Starlet, Slasher; a serial killer who has cut the throats of five young actresses.

I went into Insidious with low expectations. I was expecting a run of the mill murder mystery novel with decent characters. Insidious delivers much more. Both mysteries were well planned and developed. I did however enjoy the Starlet Slasher mystery A LOT more than the other. I found it was more intense and kept me on the edge of my seat. But, that’s not to say the attempted poisoning was boring, it was more of a slow burning mystery with a ‘bang’ at the end.

The characters involved in the mysteries were the most interesting. They had depth, desires, and motivations. They kept me entranced and had me guessing throughout the entire novel. However, the FBI Agents were a little lackluster. They felt one-dimensional and like stereotypes. They did their jobs well and played their part.

The only big issue I had with this book was the chapter formatting. Many of the chapters would end abruptly in the middle of a scene and sometimes in the middle of a conversation. I’m all for ending chapters abruptly to create suspense, however the way the chapters ended in Insidious did not create suspense. The endings were jarring and pulled me out of the story making me have to regain focus to continue reading,

 

Overall, Insidious is a well-developed mystery with interesting characters and will keep you guessing until the last few pages of the book. I would recommend Insidious if you’re looking a mystery novel that adheres to mystery standards and doesn’t add anything new or unique to the genre.

 

 

**I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

