18770398

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18770398-night-film

Four out of five stars

“Sovereign. Deadly. Perfect.”

Night Film follows Scott, a disgraced journalist, as he tries to uncover the mysteries surrounding an infamous director of horror films. He teams up with Nora, an aspiring actress, and Hopper, a handsome drug dealer. Night Film is told through Scott’s perspective with the help of pictures of news articles, case files, etc.

Night Film is described as a horror psychological thriller that will change you, much like the Films in the store. There were moments that made me turn on the lights and think twice about reading before bed, but for the most part this book is very much a detective novel. The reader follows the unlikely team as they interview various people and connect clues. If you’re not a fan of that type of story, then you will be thoroughly disappointed with Night Film.

Scott is a likeable and relatable character. I related to his motivation, ambition, and curiosity. It was easy to jump into his perspective and full immerse myself within the mystery.

Nora, on the other hand, is annoying and young. When I say young I don’t mean her age. Her maturity level and mannerism made me dislike her at the beginning, although she did grow on me.

Hopper is your typical drug dealer. He’s mysterious, prone to violence, and independent.

Without Nora and Hopper the story would have felt like it was missing something. So despite my initial dislike of their characters and my questioning of their relevance, I did enjoy them by the end of the novel.

As for the mystery, I felt it was satisfying. It wasn’t amazing or life changing. It was interesting and I didn’t see it coming, but I wish there was something more to it.

 

Overall, Night Film was an interesting mystery with a satisfying ending. The story is augmented with interesting pictures and articles that makes the story truly unique.

