21411058

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21411058-bad-romeo

Three out of four stars

“I bet if he entered his penis in a competition, it would win ‘Best in Show’ and he could walk around with a giant blue ribbon stuck to his crotch.”

Bad Romeo follows Cassie and Ethan’s very tumultuous “relationship”. I use the word relationship in its loosest form. In many ways Bad Romeo is your typical New Adult Romance. Bad Boy love interest that is not a virgin, issues with commitment, and does something awful. Virgin female protagonist, believes she can fix the bad boy, and ends up getting hurt in the end.

Despite the cookie cutter nature of the plot, I thought the writing was what made the story unique. Cassie’s inner thoughts are hilarious and progressive. I have never read a book where the main character is so at ease with her sexuality. She thinks about it constantly without slut shamming herself or others. It was easily my favorite part of the story.
Ethan was very average. Nothing about him stood out or made him overly memorable.

For the majority of the book I was wrestling between giving this book a 3 or 4 star rating. I settled on 4 stars because I loved the writing and Cassie’s thoughts. I’ve never read a character so at ease with her sexuality. It was refreshing and a welcome change of pace, however once I read the last two chapters I realized a 3 star rating would reflect my thoughts about the book more accurately. The spoiler tag above explains my choice.

Also, beware the angst. This book bleeds angst from beginning to end. So, if you don’t like angst then stay far away from this. I loved it. It fit well with the plot and who the characters were. It also made for some great scenes between Cassie and Ethan there were both steamy and funny.

Overall, Bad Romeo was a fun read (despite its cookie cutter nature) because of Cassie’s inner thoughts. She had me laughing from the beginning to end. If you’re looking for a turn your brain off kind of romance, look no further.

