28415524

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28415524-every-pane-of-glass

Four out of five stars.

“Sometimes the choices we make are a direct results of something bigger than us.”

Every Pane of Glass follows Val as she returns to her hometown, Devil Town, to auction off her childhood home. Devil Town carries a lot of good and bad memories for Val and they all come flooding back as soon as she returns. Val meets a newcomer to Devil Town, Anderson, and is swept up in an all-consuming romance, but when her past threatens to ruin her present she decides to put it down for good. Every Pane of Glass is told from Val’s perspective and alternates between the past and present.

What I liked most about this book was the writing. Strumbo took her time painting the picture that is Devil Town. I could immediately picture it without struggle. It’s a fascinating town with secrets, rumours, and charm. However, the way it was described told the reader about the town rather than showed it, which would have made the town itself a character.

Val is a troubled and flawed character. She has let her past affect her to the point where it has an effect on present life. From the beginning to the end, Val is constantly forced to deal with her past and she doesn’t always handle it the best way. But that’s what makes her feel genuine and real. I could relate to her and understand her thought process and decision-making, even when it wasn’t ideal.

Anderson is an interesting, yet dull character. When he was first introduced he intrigued me, but as the story progressed I found that I didn’t like him. He felt sketchy and impatient. But his flaws are what make him genuine, like Val. He feels like a real male who would respond with frustration and impatience. He’s not your typical swoon worthy book boyfriend, but that’s not what the story calls for. This story is very much Val’s story, so if Strumbo would have included a swoon worthy male the focus would have been taken off Val’s character arc and turn the book into a typical romance. I applaud and respect this decision.

What I disliked most about the book was the pace about halfway through. It felt slow and seemed as if there was nowhere for the plot to go. But once the plot picked back up, I was sucked into the story and didn’t put the book down until I finished it.

All I’ll say about the ending is that it’s what makes this book worth the read. I didn’t see it coming and I was absolutely thrilled about it. It explains everything in the story that is left open ended. I cannot get over how awesome the ending is.

 

Overall, Every Pane of Glass is a slow burn that explodes at the end. Step into Devil Town where secrets are buried deep, but surface when you least expect and follow along as Val tries to put to rest her past while trying to create a future.

 

 

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

 

