29214153

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29214153-children-of-dreki

Four out of five stars

Attention science fiction fans! Children of Dreki: TYR is about to become your new obsession.

Children of Dreki: TYR follows Kai and her crew as they deliver cargo to a planet shrouded in mystery by the Alliance, a government like organization. The mission goes horribly wrong and they stumble upon secrets and betrayals that force them to fight for their lives.

This book was an absolute pleasure to read. It was action packed from start to finish. Complete with space fighting, mysterious and dangerous aliens, and badass fight sequences. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did. It kept me entertained and intrigued the whole way through. Not once second went by when I felt the story was slow.

The world building in this book was phenomenal. It’s actually my favorite part about this book. The reader is given the information they need to understand the current situation, but withholds the rest. This kept me interested and wanting more. Without giving spoilers, all I’ll say is that the world Tupper has created is complex and multifaceted.

The only complaint I have is with the characters. They didn’t feel as three dimensional and as complex as the world. They felt as if they were slightly more developed than stock characters and we’re just along for the ride.
The main character, Kai, felt generic for most of the book until the end. Her devotion to her family and crew is second to none and is willing to do whatever it takes to protect those she cares about. It gives her an unpredictable edge that I appreciate.

Overall, Children of Dreki: TYR is a science fiction thrill ride that will keep you reading into all hours of the night. I would recommend this book to people who appreciate stellar world building and those who enjoy action packed science fiction adventure stories.

 

 

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

