23783496

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23783496-in-a-dark-dark-wood

Three out of five stars.

“It was growing dark, and somehow the shadows made it feel as if all the trees had taken a collective step towards the house, edging in to shut out the sky.”

In a dark, dark wood follows Nora, a reclusive writer, as she’s invited to a hen weekend for a former best friend she hasn’t spoken to in years. She reluctantly agrees to go, along with another friend she keeps in contact with briefly. The weekend takes place in a secluded cabin with 5 other people. Something devastating happens and Nora cannot remember.

Overall, I was kind of disappointed with this book. The first 3/4 of the book were incredibly slow and drawn out. The author was setting up the last act and reveal of the book throughout the first 3/4, but it was so mundane and slow.

The book is told from Nora’s perspective as she tries to remember what transpired that weekend and who died. What I loved most about this book was how the author set up Nora to be an unreliable narrator. I kept going back and forth between believing her and thinking her guilty. Without that, I would have given the book two starts instead of three.

The other characters in the book are nicely written. Each with their own motives and each with their own sketchy behaviors.

As for the final act, I wouldn’t have guessed it if I had to pick someone at the beginning of the novel. However, near the beginning of the conclusion I worked it out.
Another reason I gave the book a three star rating is because of something revealed in the final pages of the book. I won’t go into detail, but I thought it was very clever.

Overall, in a dark, dark wood was an underwhelming thriller that was too slow for too long and didn’t quite have the ending worthy of such a slow paced set up.

