25564665

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25564665-the-mistake?from_new_nav=true&ac=1&from_search=true

 

3 out of 5 stars

 

“Lorris? As in Logan and Morris? They fucking Brangelinaโ€™d themselves”

The Mistake is your typical new adult book. Girl is an inexperienced virgin, boy is a man whoring sex God, they fall in love.
It seems like almost every new adult book out there has the same plot with subtle variations. The Mistake has the variation of hockey. Logan is a defenseman at Briar University. He has the skill to make it the NHL, but isn’t going to because family issues. Grace is a bland character who decides to major in psychology. For someone who is majoring in psychology, she isn’t as understanding and compassionate as I would have liked her to be.

The major issue I had with this book is the same I had with its predecessor. Rape. No one is raped in this book, but someone gets very close to it. And not just rape, but gang rape. It added absolutely nothing to the story, nothing to the characters, and had absolutely NO business being in the story. It was so utterly useless that it makes me angry thinking about it.

The writing in the book is great! It had me laughing out loud many times and I can’t remember the last time I laughed out loud at a book. There are so many comical exchanges and if it weren’t for those I would have given this book a 2 star rating.

Overall, The Mistake is your typical new adult book with funny writing. If you’re looking for anything different or groundbreaking The Mistake with disappoint you.

