17342700

 

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17342700-gathering-darkness

 

3 out of 5 stars

Gathering Darkness is a disappointment after the majesty that was Rebel Spring.

The characters are annoying for most of the book and lost their charm and swagger.
Magnus is the biggest disappointment of the book. He’s not as in control or smooth, as compared to the previous book making his character boring and uninteresting.
As for Lucia, I never really enjoyed her perspective or her character. She feels naive and young. She continues to feel this way for the rest of this book, but I hope she matures in the next installment.
The only character I enjoyed in this book was Jonas. Which surprised me because I didn’t particularly enjoy him in the previous book. Jonas’ perspective was intriguing and action packed, which was a nice change of pace.

The Kindred were slightly disappointing as well until the last chapter where game changing information is revealed.

The last thing I wanted to touch upon was Magnus and Cleo. I know a lot of people ship them, but I don’t understand why. I found their relationship to be almost nonexistent and the little interactions they had were flat and dull.

Overall, I wish I would have enjoyed Gathering Darkness as much as I enjoyed Rebel Spring. I will continue with the story simply because the last chapter was intriguing.

